Sunday Summary – Music: May 11, 2008

So not everything around here is perfect, and not everything that we do on Sunday morning is fantastic.

This past Sunday was one of those days.

Now worship was great, and one of our guys really lead me personally on a day that I did NOT feel like being at church.

But we did an parody song/rap as the opener which celebrated a certain demographic of volunteers that we’re gonna remember for a long time – and not necessarily in a good way.

And there are even mixed reactions among our own department. Some folks enjoyed it, while most felt quite the opposite. I think we may all, myself included, have turned a blind eye in the wake of our collective DRIVE recovery…

And that’s all I’m gonna say about that.

WORSHIP:

Happy Day

Blessed Be Your Name

Everlasting God

Now let me preface why I was not in a worshipping mood on Sunday. With the chaos of DRIVE and our regular Sunday stuff, I had been in this building for about 2,000 hours over the last 2 weeks, including playing a funeral of a friend and staff member on Friday. My kids barely recognized me when I saw them on Friday afternoon. Add to that my horrible May allergies, and that sums up the desperate need for some down time.

So, needless to say, the earlier 6:00 AM call time (due to no Wednesday rehearsal due to DRIVE) was a shock to the system.

You know what I’m talking about. I’m sure you’re been there. Maybe you’re there right now.

But I’ve been trying to find an appropriate piece of scripture to read over the guys and girls right before they go on stage. I’m also trying to continually remind them that the reason we rehearse so much is that so that playing the actual music becomes second nature, deep in their subconscious. That way our focus during the live worship set can be just that – worship. A purposeful choice they make to enter into worship to our Saviour – and not heads down in charts.

From chart to heart. Learn the music so it’s INSIDE your heart come Sunday morning. Only then will you as a Worship Leader or band member be free to worship and focus on Christ during the service – and be an example of a worshipper to the audience, thus leading them in worship.

But it all starts with a CHOICE to worship.

Ha! Looking back, the irony of the lyric of one of our worship tunes:

My heart will choose to say
Lord, blessed be Your name

Anyhoo – the verse I shared probably ended up being more for me, even though I was trying to tie it in with another one of that days songs…

Isaiah 40…

25 “To whom will you compare me?
Or who is my equal?” says the Holy One.

26 Lift your eyes and look to the heavens:
Who created all these?
He who brings out the starry host one by one,
and calls them each by name.
Because of his great power and mighty strength,
not one of them is missing.

27 Why do you say, O Jacob,
and complain, O Israel,
“My way is hidden from the LORD;
my cause is disregarded by my God”?

28 Do you not know?
Have you not heard?
The LORD is the everlasting God,
the Creator of the ends of the earth.
He will not grow tired or weary,
and his understanding no one can fathom.

29 He gives strength to the weary
and increases the power of the weak.

30 Even youths grow tired and weary,
and young men stumble and fall;

31 but those who hope in the LORD
will renew their strength.
They will soar on wings like eagles;
they will run and not grow weary,
they will walk and not be faint.

So there you go. I’m glad He’s strong, ’cause I am still some tired!

IMG_0285.JPG IMG_0286.JPG IMG_0282.JPG IMG_0289.JPG IMG_0283.JPG IMG_0288.JPG

East Band – Danny Dukes, Brad Long, Danny Grady, Earl South, Scott Meeder, Chrystina Fincher, Jared Hamilton

West Band – Eddie Kirkland, Mike Hines, Daryl Lecroy, Ashley Appling, Brad Gage, Trammell Starks, Rachel Gillis




What lead YOU to worship this week?



3 thoughts on “Sunday Summary – Music: May 11, 2008

  1. When I first read:

    I thought, OMG, insulting the youth volunteers on a public blog?? Then I realized you meant you might not remember the SONG in a good way, not the volunteers.

    Now you’ve got me curious what the other comments on that were…I was in the West so some of the effect might have been lost in the translation, but I didn’t find anything so horrible as to recommend never doing that again. I thought the lyrics were well done and I felt entertained for whatever my opinion is worth.

  2. I too got a sorta wierd feeling about the opener. It felt a little too youthy and ultimately didn’t add much value to the service. Even so, the musicianship was stellar!

    On a more encouraging note, Eddie was ON in the 9:00! I don’t think I’ve ever heard him more comfortably in his range or more at home with the message that ran across the set (God is bigger than your circumstances, but present nonetheless). His credibility as a worship leader made it that much easier for me to offer my best in worship.

    And speaking of Eddie, I’ve been using “Nothing But You” a ton, getting great participation and response. I’m not too keen on the production of the song on his album, but it works great when done with a more traditional, straight-ahead rock style. PLEASE start using some stuff from “Orthodoxy”.

Leave a Reply

