X3 Live comment

So yesterday Bob commented:

“At first, as a long time FOH mixer, this trend offended my religion. To me it was just the next evolution of the Ipod generation. The more people get used to listening to 128kbps encoded music, the more digital instrumentation will be acceptable.

Now, to be honest, I have heard the X3 used by the great musicians at NPMI and my conclusion is – I still think that Analog Amps distort better – but these things do sound pretty good in the right hands.

My bottom line is that we will know that these things are the real deal when the guitar players you mention actually sell their boutique amps. So far I don’t know of anyone who has sold their amps and only have a X3.”

In case you’re interested in this topic and didn’t get a chance to read my responding comment, here it is:

(And I do agree with Bob’s comment)

“Yeah, those guys won’t – nor should they – ever sell their sweet boutique gear. THAT would be an atrocity. And some of them still use those in a stationary recording situation.

The difference for them is the experience – load in, load out, no more 50 pound combo amps, no more running back to the iso box to tweak amp settings, no more flight cases, cartage dollies, expensive pedals and pedal boards, power supplies, batteries, a case full of 1/4″ connector cables, cars and back seats getting beat up, tubes blowing, mics getting bumped out of their placement, etc.

No more sweat. No more back pain.

All that for little to no difference sonically.

And, in some cases, it’s actually improved some guys tones going to FOH, not to mention the arsenal of effects and stomp boxes they might not have had before.

BUT – as with any musical instrument, it’s ultimately ALL IN THE HANDS OF THE USER!

You could give me a top of the line guitar rig and it’ll sound like crap. You can give Danny Grady or Todd a $99 Epiphone acoustic and they can make magic.

So I’m ultimately cool with whatever each guy wants to use that he feels comfortable with and that inspires him. That just happens to be the X3 Live for a lot (and now most) of our guys, but obviously not all.”

** And please don’t get the X3 Live confused with any of Line 6’s older, inferior gear (like the XT models, etc.). At this point, I would frown at (and make fun of) anything less than the X3 Live.

3 thoughts on “X3 Live comment

  1. Have you had any experience with the Vox Tonelab SE (which is now the Tonelab LE – http://www.voxamps.co.uk/tonelab/ )? And if so how does that compare to the X3 Live?

    Only reason I ask is because I used the Tonelab SE for a couple years before I sold it and got into the pedal/amp realm. I agree with your point on having to lug gear around but I’m wondering how the Tonelab and X3 compare. If it’s really as good as you say I might go and check it out and pick one up IN ADDITION to my rig.

    Currently using Boogie Lonestar Special with this pedalboard: http://www.flickr.com/photos/djbyron/2291386155/

  2. To steal a quote from the movie Fargo:

    “I don’t know Vox Tonelab. I can’t vouch for Vox Toenlab.”

    I’m going to try and have some of the guys write some stuff about their experiences with the X3.

Leave a Reply

