10th Anniversary Ideas Anyone?

Next year, 2009, will be our 10th wedding anniversary.

Sweet!!!

And to celebrate, Jennie and I have committed to take a week-long vacation.

Somewhere nice – real nice.

And by ourselves.

Can you believe that we have never been on a trip or vacation by ourselves?

Sure, we’ve been a few places, but it’s been with extended family. And with family spread out over 4 states and 2 countries, just about every lick of vacation days have been traveling and spending time wih family.

Not that there’s anything wrong with that…

BUT – we want 7 days and 6 nights alone, away from home and work – for the first time in 10 years.

THE QUESTION IS: Where?

We’ve got lots of ideas – Greece, The Carribean, Mexico, Hawaii, Stone Mountain (oh wait…)

We’re open to just about anything, and the search is on!

So let me know if you’ve been somewhere nice you’d recommend, or, better yet, somewhere to stay away from!

I’d love to hear YOUR stories. And who knows, we might just steal one of your ideas 😉

200808092056.jpg

18 thoughts on “10th Anniversary Ideas Anyone?

  1. San Fransisco

    We spent our 10th there. Very romantic… take the day trips or overnight to the Vineyards north of SF. The Bridge, Alcatraz, Fishermans warf, the pacific coast highway… dinner by the bay. Very memorable for us

  2. Garmisch, Germany / Lake Eibsee / Zugspitz

    Nice, France

    Marshall Islands

    These three are among the coolest places on the planet. I’m an avid traveler. All three would make your 10th a week to remember!

  3. Oh and stay out of Paris, Rome, Cancun, Mexico City and Prague. All have their reasons but trust me, I know from experience. Good luck and God bless!

  4. Caribbean or France. if you choose France choose french riviera my gf’s is crazy to have our honeymoon there.hawaii is also good if ur a person of adventure and hiking,surfing stuff.anyhow happy 10th anniversary!

  5. If you want a place that is a slower pace than most tourist spots and you want lots of beach where you can find some privacy (nudge-nudge, hint-hint), I suggest Ocracoke Island, NC. My wife and I have made it our annual summer vacation for the past couple of years (and continuing on with next year). We’ll celebrate our 10-year this December and are going there to celebrate that and New Years.

    Come see what “island time” is all about!

  6. Emilie and I spent our 10th in the French side of St. Martin, at Grand Case Beach Club Hotel. Grand Case is where all the French cuisine is. Speaking French makes it fun but is not necessary. Hotel was at the end of a small barely-paved road and out on a point of the island reaching out to the ocean. So no traffic and a great view from two sides of the hotel. Perfect place to see the sunrises. The road was barely a 2-lane road, and the immediate area felt as much like France as the Carribbean. You have a cozy “home base”, plus you can head out for the snorkeling, sailing, windsurfing, day trips to little islands, etc.

    Anyway, i’m not even a beach guy and i loved it. (Of course, having Emilie there probably had something to do with it)

    Depends on what you are looking for. It’s not a “giant fancy hotel where they spoil you” kinda place, more a private, laid back, rustic but classy kinda place.

  7. Congrats to you and your wife. I saw your post and came here for some ideas because my husband and I will be celebrating our 10 anniversary this year. We have never been on a vacation alone either. So we are looking for ideas as well. I’ve always wanted to go to Hawaii, but what else is there?

  8. I’d recommend a cruise. With the high price of gas and food, a regular trip can be a big bummer. However, if you go on a cruise, it will include travel, lodging, food, and activities for the kids… all for one price that will save you big $$$ and stress in the end. Once you’re onboard, there are no headaches because they take care of everything for you! If you want to hear my specific cruise line or destination suggestions, just let me know!

  9. I have to agree with Trevor. Sandals Jamaica @ Dunns River. was amazing. My wife and I had our honeymoon there. All inclusive, the resort was immaculate, the staff is more hospitable than anything I have experienced, and the food is really good (even the breakfast buffet!) I don’t know how the weather is right now, but in February it was perfect! Mid-80s, the water was warm and crystal clear.

    UPDATE: Just checked weather.com, the weather is terrible there right now :/

  10. One place that me and my fiancé visited last year was the Ice Hotel in Kiruna, northern Sweden. It was remarkable and something I definetely recommend!.. Though, youd have to go there during the snowperiod to see the hotel itself.. completely made out of ice and snow =)

    http://www.icehotel.com

  11. What a coincidence………its my 10th anniversary as well, though its this year only. As we can’t go out without the kids, hence planned to go to Singapore. The city has too many places where kids and adults both can have fun.I loved Billwhitt’s idea for the cruise.It sounds quite romatic :)You can also come to India and be my guest

  12. If you are looking at Hawaii, Maui is a great choice.

    My wife and I went to Puerto Rico back in Sept of last year and loved it. Lots of stuff to do, beautiful beaches and they are a US commonwealth so no passport required. If you are interested, I can give you specifics on where to stay/where not to stay, what to do etc. next time I see you.

    -Brian

Leave a Reply

